Skip to main content

Kanye West Pleads “No Contest” To Misdemeanor Assault Charge

Kanye West Pleads “No Contest” To Misdemeanor Assault Charge

Kanye West’s criminal defense attorney recently plead “no contest” to the assault charge filed against Kanye back in July of 2013 for attacking a photographer.  In return for pleading no contest, the LA City Attorney and judge decided to dismiss the attempted grand theft auto charge that had accompanied the assault charge, and allowed K.W. to enter into a deferred sentence.

For the deferred sentence of the assault charge, Kanye must complete two years of probation, meaning he must remain out of legal trouble for at least two years.  The “Yeezus” rap artist must also complete 24 private therapy sessions for anger management and 250 hours of community service.  Kanye was ordered to pay for all medical bills incurred by  photographer, Daniel Ramos, and he must pay for any photography equipment that was damaged during their altercation at the Los Angeles International Airport.

If 36 year-old Kanye fails to stay out of legal trouble or doesn’t comply with all of the judges orders, than Kanye will have revoked his deferred sentence.  When the deferred sentence is revoked the judge will impose a sentence, which would likely be jail time and additional fines for Kanye.

During the last court appearance, of which Kanye West was not present, Daniel Ramos and his defense attorney had an opportunity to address the court and judge.  Daniel spoke of the emotional and physical trauma he suffered during the scuffle and how it still haunts him.  He told the judge that Kanye should go to jail for the battery and that he felt the attack was an intentional ploy for Kanye to promote his new album “Yeezus” that released just one day before the incident.

Daniel Ramos is no stranger to quarreling with the stars, in 2007 Britney Spears lashed out and hit his car with her umbrella while he was taking photos.

Kanye and his defense attorney will have to reappear in court for a review hearing on July 17th to follow-up on his therapy sessions, community service hours, and will be given the specific restitution amount he will pay out to Daniel Ramos.

 

Written by SAO

 

 

DUI Penalties: First Time Offenders

DUI Penalties: First Time Offenders

Washington State is known for having some of the toughest DUI penalties in the nation.  These DUI penalties are harsh to prevent repeat drunk driving.  Penalties for a first time DUI offender are dictated by the BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) reading taken at the police station, consequences are worse for a BAC result more than .15 or a refusal to blow, than compared to consequences for a BAC result less than .15.

If the BAC result is less than .15; than an individual found guilty of DUI would be facing 1-364 days in jail or 15 days of EHM (Electric Home Monitoring).  Fines range from $941.00 to $5,000.00.  Their Washington State driver’s license would  be suspended for 90 days, and an ignition interlock device would be required in any car they drive.

If the BAC result is more than .15 or refused; than an individual found guilty of DUI would be facing 2-364 days in jail or 30 days of EHM.  Fines range from $1,196.00 to $5,000.00.  Their Washington State driver’s license would be revoked for 1 year if their BAC result was more than .15 or if the individual refused the BAC reading than their driver’s license would be revoked for 2 years.

In addition to jail time, fines, and license suspensions, any first time DUI offender would have to get an alcohol evaluaion and complete the recommended DUI treatment programs.  The judge may also order community service hours or work crew.

Contact the defense lawyers at David O Defense if you have been charged with a DUI.  We offer a free consultation to discuss your case.  Phone number 206-459-6392.