In all of Scott Disick’s 29 years of life, could it be true, only 1 DUI charge for the “Keeping Up with The Kardashians” reality TV star? It seems so! The daddy of Kourtney Kardashian’s 2 babies, is known for wild nights of clubbing, heavy drinking, and outrageous behavior. However, when it comes to DUI, Scott doesn’t do it anymore! His one and only DUI charge happened years ago when he was under the legal age to consume alcohol.
According to an article on wetpaint.com, a youthful 18-year-old, Scott Disick, crashed his car in Riverhead, NY, just miles away from his Eastport residence. During the accident investigation, New York police officers reported they could smell alcohol on Scott’s breath and had him perform the DUI field sobriety tests. Disick failed the DUI field tests and was taken to jail. Later in court, Scott pled guilty to the DUI charge.
Perhaps Disick learned his DUI lesson early on in life and consciously chooses not to DUI. Or perhaps, Scott’s paid designated driver, his chauffeur, taking him from one night club to the next and then home early the next morning has kept Scott DUI free. What ever the reason may be, Scott Disick has obviously made good decisions about not driving drunk or DUI!
It’s unfair but true you can be charged with a DUI in Seattle, in fact, everywhere in Washington State while having a DUI breath test result under the legal limit of .08. RCW 46.61.502 defines a driver as being guilty of DUI if the person drives a vehicle within this state “while under the influence of or affected by intoxicating liquor..” Affected by intoxicating liquor?! What does this mean?
It means the prosecutor can still charge you with a DUI. Every person reacts differently to alcohol and less amounts may “affect” a person’s ability to drive even while having a test result under the DUI limits. A person charged with a DUI with a breath test under the legal limit will be facing the same penalties of a person with a breath test ranging from .08 to .15 with all other factors being similar. As a result this type of case should be taken as seriously as a DUI case with a breath test above the legal limit.
Unless something extraordinary happened I don’t believe any driver should be charged with a DUI if that person blew under the legal limit. Especially when the state puts on TV ads about DUI/drunk driving and posts signs all over the road showing the legal limit of .08. It’s misleading.
I have represented several people charged with a DUI while blowing under the legal limit. Fortunately for those clients we were able to resolve all those cases very well.