Posts tagged lawyer for marijuana DUI

Washington State Marijuana Laws

How well do you know the Washington State Marijuana Laws?  It’s important to be safe and avoid any criminal prosecution, so let’s review the laws pertaining to legalized marijuana.

Washington State Marijuana Laws

1.  It is legal for any individual of the age of 21 or older to buy marijuana from a licensed recreational marijuana retail store.  Individuals 21 years and older may legally possess and use:

  • 1 once of marijuana bud/flower,Washington State Marijuana Laws - marijuana light bulb
  • or 7 grams of marijuana concentrate/extract for inhalation,
  • or 16 ounces of marijuana infused product in solid form,
  • or 72 ounces of marijuana infused product in liquid form
  • marijuana related drug paraphernalia

2.  It is illegal to possess more marijuana than what is listed above and it is illegal to possess any form of marijuana or drug paraphernalia if an individual is under 21 years old.

  • FUN FACT – Washington State recreational marijuana sales to the public began July, 8 2014.

3.  Growing marijuana at home for recreational use or to sell is illegal.  Individuals must purchase marijuana from a licensed recreational retail store.

  • FUN FACT – According to the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Control Board, the marijuana industry generated over $64 million dollars in tax revenue during its first fiscal year.

4.  Marijuana purchased in Washington State must be consumed in Washington State, it is illegal to transport marijuana to other states.

5.  Individuals from other states are allowed to purchase marijuana in Washington State as long as they are 21 or older and they must consume the product in Washington State, they cannot take it back to their home state.

6.  Purchased marijuana products cannot be consumed in the retail store, it is illegal.  This includes concentrates, edibles, and the bud/flower.

7.  It is illegal to open and/or consume any type of marijuana products in the view of the general public.  If law enforcement see’s an individual opening and/or consuming any type of marijuana product in public, that officer is first required to give the offender a verbal warning.  It the individual does not abide by the officer’s warning, the officer will then issue a $27.00 fine.

8.  It is illegal to drive under the influence of marijuana.  There is a per se DUI limit of “delta-9” THC levels at greater than or equal to 5 nanograms per milliliter of blood (5 ng/mL).  If an individual is driving under the influence of marijuana they could be charged with DUI.  A marijuana DUI is treated the same as an alcohol related DUI. State and local law enforcement agencies are tasked with enforcing the DUI limit.

If you have any further questions about Washington State marijuana laws, DUI marijuana laws, or if you have been charged with a marijuana DUI, the attorneys at David O Defense are here to help.  Give us a call, 206-459-6392, today.

 

Q & A for Washington State New Marijuana Laws

Ran across an article on Kirotv.com that listed some frequently asked questions regarding Initiative 502, legalization of marijuana in Washington State.  I thought it was worth posting; here are the questions and answers I found to be useful and informative.

1.  What does this mean to me?

It means adults 21 and older can possess up to 1 ounce of the drug; 16 ounces of a solid marijuana-infused product (such as brownies or baked goods); or 72 ounces of infused liquid (such as oil for personal use only).

2.  So it’s legal to carry around that amount?

Yes, but I-502 says it “is unlawful to open a package containing marijuana … in view of the general public.”

3.  Is it legal to smoke marijuana in a public place?

According to Seattle police, while it will be legal to smoke marijuana in one’s home, smoking it in public could result in a ticket, but not an arrest, much like having an open container of alcohol in a public place.  Users outside of Seattle should inquire about laws specific to their city.

4.  Does I-502 affect current medical marijuana laws?

No.  Medical marijuana laws in Washington remain the same.

5.  I’m not a medical marijuana patient.  Where can I legally buy pot or pot-infused goods?

Currently, nowhere.  The Washington State Liquor Control Board is working to develop guidelines for the sale and distribution of marijuana and has until Dec. 1, 2013, to finalize those rules.  In the meantime, production and sale of non-medical marijuana remains illegal.

6.  Can I grow or sell marijuana?

Not at this time, though in the future licenses may be available under laws specified by the Washington State Liquor Control Board.

7.  What about driving after smoking marijuana?

Initiative 502 establishes a standard blood test for driving under the influence.  If an officer believes you’re driving under the influence (DUI) of anything, including marijuana, they will conduct a field sobriety test and may consult with a drug recognition expert.  A blood test may follow.

8.  After it’s legal to buy marijuana, how much will it cost?

That has yet to be determined, but marijuana sales will be subjected to a 40% tax.  State financial experts estimate it could raise nearly $2 billion in tax revenue over the next five years.

9.  How will the tax money be used?

The money is earmarked for education, health care, substance abuse prevention and basic government services.

The complete list of questions can be found at kirotv.com under the post “Legal marijuana: Questions answered.”

 

David O Defense
2211 Elliott Avenue, Suite 200 Seattle, WA 98121
Tel: 206.459.6392
Fax: 888.615.0237
Email: david@davidodefense.com

See What’s Happening on Twitter