Posts tagged DUI history

Let’s Talk – DUI Penalties

Washington State is one of the toughest states in the nation when it comes to punishing those found guilty of DUI, Driving Under the Influence.  Even first time DUI offenders with no criminal history often suffer consequences such as suspended driver’s license, fines, and jail time.  And with each additional DUI charge, the consequences quickly become steeper and harsher.

So let’s talk about DUI penalties.

DUI also called DWI, Driving While under the Influence, is a crime handled at the state level. DUI penalties are mandated by the court and are determined by; the amount of alcohol consumed (breath test level), refusal of the breath test, prior DUI history, whether there was property damage while under the influence, or injuries to persons as a result of the DUI, and other criminal history.

In Washington, the maximum penalties for a DUI are 364 days of jail, $5000 fine and loss of license.  The minimum penalties for a first offense DUI if a person blew under .15 are one day of jail, $350 fine, and loss of license for 90 days.  The minimum penalties for a first offense DUI if a person blew over .15 are two days of jail, $500 fine, and a loss of license for one year.  The minimum penalties for a first offense DUI if a person refused to submit to a breath test at the station are two days of jail, $500 fine, and a loss of license for two years.

The minimum penalties for a second offense DUI within seven years, if a person blew under .15 are 30 days of jail, 60 days of electronic home monitoring, $500 fine, and a loss of license for two years.  The minimum penalties for a second offense DUI within seven years, if a person blew over .15 are 45 days of jail, 90 days of electronic home monitoring, $750 fine, and a loss of license for 900 days.  The minimum penalties for a second offense DUI if a person refused to submit to a breath test at the station are 45 days of jail, 90 days of electronic home monitoring, $750 fine, and a loss of license for 3 years.

The minimum penalties for a third offense DUI within seven years, if a person blew under .15 are 90 days of jail, if available in the county or city, a 6 month 24/7 sobriety monitoring program (ex: scram device), 120 days of electronic home monitoring, $1000 fine, and a loss of license for 3 years.  The minimum penalties for a third offense DUI within seven years, if a person blew over .15 are 120 days of jail, if available in the county or city, a 6 month 24/7 sobriety monitoring program, 150 days of electronic home monitoring, $1500 fine, and a loss of license for 4 years.  The minimum penalties for a third offense DUI within seven years, if a person refused to submit to the breath test at the station are 120 days of jail, if available in the county or city, a 6 month 24/7 sobriety monitoring program, 150 days of electronic home monitoring, $1500 fine, and a loss of license for 4 years.

DUI penalties can have a negative impact on someone’s life and this is one of the reasons it is important to contact a DUI defense attorney when charged with a DUI.  An experienced defense attorney will work hard to minimize DUI penalties, or possibly eliminate the DUI penalties all together by getting the DUI charge reduced to a lesser charge or by dismissal.

The attorneys at David O Defense are experienced and have a proven track record of serving our clients.  Give us a call today if you have been charged with DUI, we offer free legal consultations, 206-459-6392.

New Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Laws

Unfortunately every year there are fatal car accidents caused by drunk drivers.  However, this year has been different, Washington State lawmakers filed over a thousand pages of new driving under the influence (DUI) legislation within the months of March through June.

This mad rush of lawmaking was the aftermath of two tragic DUI related cases in the Seattle area.  Governor Inslee, lawmakers, and the “public” have been demanding tougher laws against drunk drivers ever since.

Many of the ideas proposed in early drafts had a lot of public and lawmaker support but were completely unrealistic as actual policies.  A popular proposal was to require special licenses or ID cards for people with DUI history to prohibit their purchase of alcohol.  This proposal appeared quite ineffective considering current Washington State law allows the use of various forms of identification for the purchase of alcohol, including passports and military ID’s.

Another popular proposal that went nowhere was the requirement for all drivers arrested for DUI to have an ignition interlock device installed in his/her vehicle while contained at the impound lot.  The vehicle would remain impounded until the ignition interlock devices was installed properly.  This proposal quickly didn’t pass because of testimony provided by representatives from ignition interlock companies that it was not feasible to install devices off site.

The two mentioned proposals did not pass into law this session.  However, new DUI law, Engrossed Second Substitute Bill 5912, passed and will become effective September 28, 2013.

As a result of 5912 there will be additional mandatory jail time for a DUI driver who had a child passenger.  A court sentencing under the new DUI law must consider whether or not a driver had a passenger under the age of 16 years in the vehicle at the time of the incident and impose additional jail time if they did.  For a DUI driver with no DUI history, this additional mandatory jail is 24 hours.  For a DUI driver with prior DUI history the additional mandatory jail is five days (one prior DUI) and ten days (two or more prior DUI offenses).

Also, 5912 impacts drivers with DUI history at the time of arrest and during pre-trial conditions of release.  During a DUI arrest, if the officer has knowledge of the individual having a prior DUI offense within 10 years, 5912 requires that driver to be booked into jail and held until released by a judge.  Any judge setting pretrial conditions of release for a person with a prior DUI is required by 5912 to impose an installation of an ignition interlock device.  The law does not allow for removal of the device until acquittal or dismissal of the DUI charge.

Driving under the influence laws are ever-changing.  If you or anyone you know is accused with DUI call David O Defense Criminal and DUI Litigation to schedule a free consultation.

David O Defense
2211 Elliott Avenue, Suite 200 Seattle, WA 98121
Tel: 206.459.6392
Fax: 888.615.0237
Email: david@davidodefense.com